Graalians

Graalians (https://www.graalians.com/forums/index.php)
-   Off-Topic Chat (https://www.graalians.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Computer science or Computer engineering? (https://www.graalians.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40925)

Saeed 09-30-2018 01:31 PM

Computer science or Computer engineering?

Hello Graalains adults, I came here to ask for your advices, opinions and explanations.

This is my last year in college (in the UK college is from the age of 16 to 18, it's two years you have to do in-order to go University) and I'm currently applying to universities and trying to figure out what degree I would like to do. Since I studied ICT (Information computer technology) for two years in college, I would like to study something IT related in UNI. My grades last year were quite high and so are my predicted grades for this year inshallah. Which means I have the qualifications to study whatever IT-related degree I want.

My current four options i'm thinking of are: Computer science, computer engineering, cyber security or robotics. Most of you knows computer science and computer engineering. Cyber security is basically IT security your role is to defend against hackers and viruses. Robotics is a new degree that I really don't know much about but it's like creating actual bots and objects like that.

I decided not to study cyber security as a degree since I was told by many that 3 years (3 years is how many years you have to study to get your degree in the UK) are too much for cyber security. Studying cyber security in your master year is more than enough. (I'm planning to do master after my degree).

All of the people I asked never heard of robotics since it's very new but my teachers said it's the way forward now along the other 3 options I listed. So, I might avoid this subject till I find out wither there is jobs opportunities for if its too modern.